Let me ask you something, what is not art?

Let me ask you something, what is not art?
-Author Unknown

Star Wars Galaxy 5 started me in the sketchcard game.  For those that don’t know sketchcards are trading cards that are given to various artists, they sketch, draw, paint, or color them into little mini masterpieces in some cases, or neat little pieces of art in others.  I was lucky enough to have the one and only SUCKLORD get me on board for the Topps Star Wars Galaxy 5 shaped sketch cards sub-set.  The shaped set was a first as these cards weren’t the traditional rectangle set, and the artists on the set were more underground or street artists.  Here are a few examples of what I was able to come up with.  To my knowledge, I was the first guy to give the linocut a try on these.  I think they turned out pretty well.

So, this opened a few doors for me creatively.  I’ve been very fortunate to have Upper Deck add me to a few pretty big card sets.  I’ve got “sketchcards” coming out in two sets this year from them.  I’ve been involved in the Voltron: United and Drawn book which features some very very cool art from some very talented folks.  I’ve been included in the CBLDF Liberty set from Cryptozoic.

All in all I’m pretty thankful for being able to be a part of some really kick ass sketch card releases.  I look forward to 2012, it’s going to be huge.  I’ve got a couple of surprises in store for everyone.  Tell your friends about this place.  Check out the shop.  And please spread the word.  I’ll do my best to keep everyone entertained.  I’m going to do at least one convention this year, details to come.

And most of all, thanks to everyone that comes by to check out my art.  I really do appreciate it.

 

What do you think?

