I think punk rock, especially for me, was a big middle finger to this whole talent thing.

I think punk rock, especially for me, was a big middle finger to this whole talent thing. –  Mike Watt

Punk rock played a pivotal role in my youth.  It helped shape me into who I have become today.  A lot of good things, a few things that I should eventually grow out of but more than likely won’t.  To me being punk rock wasn’t about giant mohawks and safety pins in your ears.  To me punk rock was about doing what you want regardless of how people look at you or want you to do.  It was about free spirited rebellion, nothing malicious or violent, but creating what you wanted to create how you wanted to create it.  Not listening to the mainstream voices that tell you that your leather jacket just isn’t cool, or that you’re supposed to embrace Top 40 music and fit in.  Bands like D.I., the Circle Jerks, Bad Brains, were and always will be influence on my creativity and musical tastes because they did it the way they wanted to do it.

A huge thanks to Mike, Wes, and Mike.  You guys know why.

A even huger thank you to Ashley, she tolerates my rebellion like a champ.  I don’t know how she does it.

This is why I do what I do.  Because I want to.  Because I enjoy it.  Hopefully others will enjoy it too.

Here are a couple of pieces I did of Keith Morris.  Former lead singer of Black Flag, the Circle Jerks, and current front man for OFF!

Hope you enjoy.  These are available for purchase.  11×14 on paper with spray.

 

 

 

Short Bio for the provider of todays quote Mike Watt for those who don’t know.

Michael David Watt (born December 20, 1957 in Portsmouth, Virginia) is an American bassist, singer and songwriter.

He is best known for co-founding the rock bands Minutemen, dos, andFirehose; as of 2003, he is also the bassist for the reunited Stooges and a member of the art rock/jazz/punk/improv group Banyan as well as many other post-Minutemen projects.

CMJ New Music called Watt a “seminal post-punk bass player.” In November 2008, Watt received the Bass Player Magazine lifetime achievement award, presented by Flea.

2 thoughts on “I think punk rock, especially for me, was a big middle finger to this whole talent thing.”

What do you think?

